On Saturday, March 4, 2017 at 7pm, an intimate number of guests are invited to the American Irish Historical Society to experience VOXLUMINA, an immersive vocal salon concert inside a five-story Beaux Arts limestone mansion at 991 Fifth Avenue, New York. Featuring electro-acoustic musical works by Ricardo Romaneiro with poetry by Christopher Cahill live visual accompaniment by Christian Hannon and satellite food pairings by Jonah Reider.
Featuring soloists sopranos
Ariadne Greif, Daisy Press, and Hannah Sumner. Performed by a select group of musicians including: Catherine Gregory, flute; Vasko Dukovski, clarinet; Melanie Genin, harp; Victor Caccese, percussion; Pauline Kim Harris, violin/viola; Conrad Harris, violin; Justin Abrams, cello; Kristine Kruta, cello; Ramin Abrams, bass and Tom Schubert, narrator.  Lighting design by John Houle  and  audio  enigneering by Leo Leite

A roving after-party with live electronic improvisation set by electronic artist NoisioN, Leo LeiteDavid ZisaMax Alper and Greg Gelfan will follow, paired with organic cocktails and wine.

American Irish Historical Society is a historical landmark located on Fifth Avenue on the Upper East Side, across from the Metropolitan Museum of Art, serves as a focal point for concerts, lectures, art exhibits, theatrical productions & special events. The Society hosts a wide array of events and artists who have included Patti Smith, Bono, Elvis Costello, as well as an ongoing chamber music concert series with The Juilliard School. The venue features a turn of the century historically preserved interior that offers an intimate experience and setting.


I. CENTO: The Light & Dark & Famine & Feast of the Ages
Based on a collage of passages from Irish literature responding to food and hunger, a prelude to the concert is a collaboration between poet Christopher Cahill, composer Ricardo Romaneiro, chef Jonah Reider, engineer Leo Leite, and artist Greg Gelfand. Visitors will be transported into a jewel-lit, multi-sensory collaborative installation weaving music, poetry, and culinary creations. Audience members walk, listen, look, and explore freely while thematically pairing food stations throughout the turn-of-the-century mansion.

II. TWO-PART BELIEF (2017 version) featuring Daisy Press
Two-Part Belief is work by composer Ricardo Romaneiro for chamber ensemble, electronics, and soprano set to the words of Christopher Cahill. Electronic ambient soundscapes orchestrated and mixed with acoustic instruments weaves the listener on a kaleidoscopic and contemplative journey of sound and poetry. Fluid vocals lines are embellished by musical tone paintings through live electronic manipulations of the voice. Premiered in Prospect Park Bandshell as part of Celebrate Brooklyn! presented by Wordless Music and streamed live on NPR.

III. LAMPLIGHTING (2015) featuring Hannah Sumner
Lamplighting is a work for voice and ensemble by composer Ricardo Romaneiro with poetry by Christopher Cahill.  Lamplighting takes the listener on a journey of harmonic drones and counterpoint, expressing a fundamental connection made by the unconscious between feelings that are normally poles apart: life and death, pleasure and pain, ecstasy and melancholy. Commissioned and premiered by Ensemble LPR.

IV. THE COARSE AIR (2016) featuring Ariadne Greif
The Coarse Air in an electro-acoustic work by from Ricardo Romaneiro, scored for chamber orchestra, electronics and solo soprano (Ariadne Greif) based on Christopher Cahill’s poem “The Coarse Air”. The combined effect and placement of the audience in the center, embeds the listener within the texture of the orchestra and the work itself., adding live interactive visuals and projection mapping (Christian Hannon), it was written and conceived to bring the evening together to an enveloping and dramatic conclusion. Commissioned and premiered by Metropolis Ensemble.

V. POSTLUDE [after-party]
During the after-party reception, electronic artists NoisioN, Leo Leite, David Zisa & Max Alper will combine hardware analog and digital synthesizers and sequencers with samples and effects into a single “super-instrument” that requires the user to perform via improvisation by triggering and layering dozens of sequenced layers with on the fly production voicing and effects. The live set will incorporate music and sounds from all three works on the concert.
Copyright © 2017 Ricardo Romaneiro, All rights reserved.

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp