Copy
Share Share
Tweet Tweet
Forward Forward
September 7, 2021
*******

 
Criminalization of 35 Azacualpa community members by U.S. mining company Aura Minerals and MINOSA (Honduran subsidiary)
https://mailchi.mp/rightsaction/aura-minerals-criminalizes-azacualpa-community-members
 
35 community and environmental defenders from Azacualpa and other villages are being prosecuted on trumped up charges. Aura Minerals/MINOSA had 19 people charged since 2017. Now, 16 more have been added. They face criminal charges of "damages to private property".

 
September 1, 2021, Courthouse, Santa Rosa Copan
Criminal charges against territory defenders from Azacualpa, La Union, Copan


***
 
"Aura / MINOSA causes all our problems"

"The only crime we have done is to protect the environment and, from there, life"

Who "damages" what?
Aura Minerals/MINOSA damages and destroys the Azacualpa cemetery, the community and surroundings, the environment, the local economy and families now without jobs (many have gone as refugees into exile), and ... takes advantage of the corruption and impunity of the regime in power (steadfast "democratic ally" of the U.S. and Canada) to prosecute villagers for “damages of private property”.
 
More information
U.S./Canada: Grahame Russell, Rights Action, info@rightsaction.org
 
*******

Background
Azacualpa Environmental Community struggle in defense of land, rights and cemetery:
Archives: https://rightsaction.org/aura-minerals-archives
Photo Gallery: https://rightsaction.org/aura-minerals-photos
 
Films
Updates - Honduran political, human rights  issues: https://lists.riseup.net/www/info/honduras_daily
 
Aura Minerals/MINOSA
info@auraminerals.com / +1 305-239-9332 / www.auraminerals.com
78 SW 7th St, Aura Minerals @ WeWork, Miami, FL 33130, USA
Craigmuir Chambers, PO Box 71, VG1110, British Virgin Islands
 
Management
Rodrigo Barbosa, President & CEO, rbarbosa@auraminerals.com;
Sergio Castanho, SCastanho@auraminerals.com;
João Kleber Cardoso, kcardoso@auraminerals.com;
Richmond Fenn, rfenn@auraminerals.com;
Monty Reed, mreed@auraminerals.com;
 
Board
Rodrigo Barbosa, President & CEO, rbarbosa@auraminerals.com;
Stephen Keith, snskeith@gmail.com;
Philip Reade, philip.reade@outlook.com;

 
*******

Tax-Deductible Donations (Canada & U.S.)
To support land, human rights and environmental defender groups in Honduras and Guatemala, make check to "Rights Action" and mail to:
  • U.S.:  Box 50887, Washington DC, 20091-0887
  • Canada:  (Box 552) 351 Queen St. E, Toronto ON, M5A-1T8
Credit-Card Donations: http://rightsaction.org/donate/
Donations of securities in Canada and the U.S.? Write to: info@rightsaction.org


*******
Please share and re-post this information
Subscribe to Email Newsblasts: https://rightsaction.org/subscribe
https://www.facebook.com/RightsAction.org
https://twitter.com/RightsAction
https://www.instagram.com/rightsaction
https://www.youtube.com/user/rightsaction
*******

 
Facebook Facebook
Twitter Twitter
Website Website
Copyright © 2021 Rights Action, All rights reserved.


unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences 

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp