Copy

Distance Learning: Election Resources

Special Edition  -  November 3, 2020

 

What’s new on our website? 

For Parents, Teachers, and Administrators

Election 2020 Resources

The San Mateo County Office of Education has curated resources to support the education community in response to the 2020 election.

The collection of resources includes lessons to lead student discussions on the election, outcome of the election, and additional resources for social emotional and parent support. Access the election Padlet here.

Highlighted Resources from the Election Padlet  

The following resources are highlights from the San Mateo County Office of Education's Election Padlet.
Teaching the 2020 Election: What will you do on Wednesday?
As the election approaches, educators should prepare to support students no matter the result. 
Teaching With: "Electoral College 101"
In “Electoral College 101" the political humorist Mo Rocca consults a third-grade class on the fairness of the Electoral College.
Know Your Rights Students' Rights The Supreme Court ruled in 1969 that students do not "shed their constitutional rights to freedom of speech or expression at the schoolhouse gate." This is true for other fundamental rights as well.

Multilingual Community and Family Support  

The California and Youth Helpline provides support and resource referrals to parents and youths during the current COVID-19 pandemic, seven days a week from 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. For more information, call or text 1-855-4PARENT (855-427-2736) for services in English, Spanish, and other languages.
We Are Here to Support You
Kim Bambao
Mathematics
kbambao@smcoe.org
Michelle Holdt
Arts and Restorative Learning
mholdt@smcoe.org
Tina Nelson
Library Services
tnelson@smcoe.org
Gwenn Lei
ELA & History/Social Studies
glei@smcoe.org
Gracie Hough
English Learner Support Services
ghough@smcoe.org
Erica Ng
English Learner Support Services
eng@smcoe.org
Doron Markus
Science, Engineering & Health
dmarkus@smcoe.org
Sandra Velásquez
Technology and Innovation
svelasquez@smcoe.org
Jared Prolo
Executive Director, CIS
jprolo@smcoe.org
Andra Yeghoian
Environmental Literacy
ayeghoian@smcoe.org
Facebook
Twitter
Link
Website
Copyright © *|2020|* *|San Mateo County Office of Education|*, All rights reserved.


Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp