HotPicks from new fiction at Nelson Public Libraries.
View this email in your browser

Hot-Picks fiction April 2022

When a former colleague is gunned down before his eyes, PI/vigilante Marshall Grade defies the NYPD to track the killer down. 

Kiwi author Ben Sanders cut his teeth writing the Sean Deveraux novels set in Auckland and has since moved on to setting his thrillers in the US. Exit .45 is the third book featuring private eye Marshall Grade, a moreish blend of Lee Child, Elmore Leonard and the crime noir of the 1920s and '30s. 
Sizzling romance and heart pounding espionage combine as Lady Sophia Huntington Villiers tracks the great composer's death mask across post-war Europe. Bridgerton meets The Imitation Game, The Mozart Code will appeal to fans of Kate Quinn and Susan Elia MacNeal. 
Mickey 7 is an expendable, a clone of the original Mickey (and coming after the other 6), tasked with some of the more unpleasant and dangerous tasks on the ice planet Niflheim. When Mickey 7 vanishes and Mickey 8 arrives to take his place, issues of ethics, identity and colonisation arise. Mickey 7 has recently been optioned by Parasite director Bong Joon Ho, so watch this space. 
Libraries around the world have always endured despite war.  During the Blitz, the library at Bethnal Green in the East End of London was bombed out and the librarians moved into the disused Bethnal Green tube stop. The Little Wartime Library is a heart warming and inspirational story inspired by these events. 
Recently returned to New Zealand to care for Felix, her estranged and ailing Father, Emily is shocked to discover that he may have had a hand in the disappearance of a local woman decades earlier. Charity Norman is a Kiwi author you may never have heard of, but you can't go past her for well crafted, page turning thrillers.
This may be the novel about ice hockey you've been waiting for! As teens, Susy and Leigh were bitter rivals, vying for a place on the Olympic hockey team. Now as adults Leigh's hockey prodigy 9 year old brings her back into Susy's circle. Friendship, betrayals and the #metoo movement embody this heartfelt read.
Maps! Libraries! Secrets! When her Father is found dead at his desk at the New York Public Library, disgraced cartographer Nell is thrown into a dangerous mystery. The Cartographers promises a page turning  story of maps, fraud and maybe a little bit of the supernatural. 
A highly inventive novel that pushes the boundaries of reality. - Kirkus.
Post-industrial small town Rhode Island, 2009 is a desolate place, with few jobs and little hope. Desperation marks the lives of Marie, Carol, Angel and Birdy, forever entwined by a murderous love triangle. O'Nan's writing is rich in  tenderness and social detail. 
What happens when everything you think of as reality is actually false? How will you cope when you meet your doppelg√§nger?
A disparate group of people on a flight that lands in New York in March 2021 and again in July 2021 face these questions in this beguiling and challenging novel.
Winner of the Prix Goncourt 2020 for "the best and most imaginative prose work of the year".
When her mother dies suddenly, stuggling indie musician Greta takes her place on a cruise with her estranged father, leading to an emotionally fraught and grief stricken voyage. A novel of mothers and daughters, fathers and their children, grief and healing. 
Click here to view all HotPicks on the catalogue
Facebook Facebook
Twitter Twitter
Instagram Instagram
nelsonpubliclibraries.co.nz nelsonpubliclibraries.co.nz
Copyright © 2022 Nelson Public Libraries, All rights reserved.

Unsubscribe from this list    Update my preferences 

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp