View this email in your browser

UT Committee Begins Search for New Institute of Agriculture Chancellor

The search for the next chancellor of the University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture began today with the first meeting of the search committee.
The chancellor serves as the chief academic and administrative officer of the Institute of Agriculture, which consists of UT Extension, AgResearch, the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources and the College of Veterinary Medicine.
The new chancellor will replace Larry Arrington, who is retiring Sept. 1. UT Extension Dean Tim Cross will serve as interim chancellor while we conduct a national search. 
I invite anyone interested in nominating a candidate or applying for the position to do so through the search website.

Chairing the committee is UT Institute for Public Service Vice President Herb Byrd, who previously served the Institute of Agriculture for more than 30 years. The additional 17 search committee members represent faculty, staff and students within the Institute of Agriculture as well as trustees, legislative and industry leaders:

  • David Anderson, professor and head, Large Animal Clinical Sciences
  • Taylre Beaty, student, Food and Agricultural Sciences
  • Janie Burney, professor, Family and Consumer Sciences
  • Faith Critzer, assistant professor, Food Science and Technology
  • Lannett Edwards, professor and graduate program director, Animal Science
  • Sharon Jean-Phillipe, assistant professor, Forestry, Wildlife and Fisheries
  • Juan Jurat-Fuentes, associate professor, Entomology and Plant Pathology
  • Carol McDonald, assistant commissioner for policy and legislation, Tennessee Department of Agriculture
  • Rhedona Rose, UT trustee; executive vice president, Tennessee Farm Bureau
  • Scott Senseman, professor and head, Plant Sciences
  • Bobby Simpson, director, East Tennessee Research and Education Center
  • Steve Smith, dean and professor, Hodges Library, UT Knoxville
  • Karen Tobias, professor, Small Animal Clinical Sciences
  • Deb Welch, management specialist, Extension Education and Staff Development
  • John Wilson, extension agent III and county director, Blount County
  • Mark Wilson, area vice president, Tennessee Farm Credit Mid-America Foundation
  • Al Womac, professor, Biosystems Engineering and Soil Sciences

Ashlie Czyz, director of HR programs, is the executive recruiter for the search. Linda Hendricks Harig, UT vice president for human resources, is serving as an adviser to the committee.
Thank you for your involvement in this important process and for all you do for the University.
All the best,

The University of Tennessee | Office of the President
831 Andy Holt Tower | Knoxville, TN 37996
Phone: 865.974.2241 | Fax: 865.974.3753
UT icon
The mission of the University of Tennessee System Administration is to advance the educational, discovery, creative and outreach programs of the campuses and institutes through leadership that removes obstacles, understands needs, provides advocacy, secures resources, promotes accountability, fosters diversity, promotes innovation, coordinates campus efforts and delivers efficient and effective central services.