Copy
End of Season Barn Dance - Setting Things Straight
View this email in your browser

LAWRENCE PARK TENNIS CLUB

 

"BETWEEN THE LINES"
18 October 2016
 

WE WANNA SET THINGS STRAIGHT!!!
We're hearing about some anxiety and concerns about our upcoming End of Season Barn Dance, on Saturday November 19th, and we just want to clarify a few things and put your minds at ease. 
 
Here is some of what we've heard, and our response to those concerns:
 
(1) You have to come with a partner.
                                                   
No!  Despite the poster saying "bring your dancing partner", this is not a type of dance that requires a "partner". We were just encouraging members to bring their friends, partners, etc. even if they are not members of the club, because it will be a fun event, and, the more the merrier. Many of us are "unattached" and we want you to participate because it will be one big party and not a coupled event.
 
(2) If there's dancing, we will feel uncomfortable, as we don't know the steps.
 
Country dancing isn't couple dancing, nor is it line dancing.  It's much easier, and does not require any skill. If you know how to walk, and if you know how to play tennis.......then you're ahead of the game. We'll have a caller (who's a senior, herself) constantly walking us through the steps. It is very much like "square dancing".
 
(3)  I've got 2 left feet and don't want to embarrass myself.
 
We'll all be in the same boat!!! We're guessing, that few, if any, have taken up country or square dancing, along with playing tennis, so let's just relax and have fun. 
 
We wanted to try something new this year, that would bring us all together in a FUN group activity. The venue is fabulous, the meal will be delicious, the music will be fun and "live" with a caller, a fiddler and a keyboard player. ALL WE NEED FROM YOU IS TO COME RELAXED AND OPEN TO HAVING A GOOD TIME AND TRYING SOMETHING NEW. YOU CAN HAVE A DRINK ON THE HOUSE TO START IF THAT WOULD HELP.
 
Don't forget to sign-up at the clubhouse or on-line before the deadline of November 12. You can pay the $10 admission ($25 for guests) by putting money in the small brown guest fee envelopes - with yours and the guest(s) names written on the envelope - and deposit into the guest fee box, or you can pay at the door on the evening of the event. See you there!! 
 
Anita & Margot
 
Convinced? Sign Up Here To Come To The Party!

This Newsletter

This newsletter is for our members... to ensure you are in the know and up-to-date on what's happening at Lawrence Park Tennis Club.  If you change your email address, please let us know at Membership@lawrenceparktennisclub.ca so we can ensure you continue to receive Club updates.

If you have information you think should be shared with our members, please contact our Communications Chair at Communication@lawrenceparktennisclub.ca to share your ideas.

Thanks for reading.

Reaching Your Board

President: John Mowat (President@lawrenceparktennisclub.ca)
Vice President: Margot Willoughby   (Vicepresident@lawrenceparktennisclub.ca
Treasurer: Dennis Gurwitz (Treasurer@lawrenceparktennisclub.ca)
Secretary: Caroline Gray (Secretary@lawrenceparktennisclub.ca
Membership: David Douglas (Membership@lawrenceparktennisclub.ca)
Junior Programs: Tim Dalton (JuniorPrograms@lawrenceparktennisclub.ca)
Games: Cecelia Thng (Games@lawrenceparktennisclub.ca)
Courts: Vacant (Courts@lawrenceparktennisclub.ca)
Social: Anita Strauss (Social@lawrenceparktennisclub.ca)
House: Anna Caton (House@lawrenceparktennisclub.ca)
Communications: Deborah Hoffnung (Communication@lawrenceparktennisclub.ca)
Director-At-Large: Karen Brown (DAL@lawrenceparktennisclub.ca)
Past President: Puica Nitu (PastPresident@lawrenceparktennisclub.ca)
Copyright © 2016 Lawrence Park Tennis Club, All rights reserved.


Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp