December 9, 2022
Embassy Brings Together the Brazilian Scientific Diaspora for Discussions on Brazil-U.S. cooperation

The Embassy of Brazil and the Atlantic Council's Adrienne Arsht Latin America Center co-hosted, on December 6th, the 5th Meeting of the Scientific and Technological Diaspora of Brazil in the United States. 

Inaugurated by the Ambassador of Brazil, Nestor Forster Jr., and the Under Secretary for Economic Growth, Energy, and the Environment, Jose Fernandez, the event brought together a number of Brazilian and U.S. scholars, science policy-makers, and entrepreneurs.

Ambassador Forster and Under Secretary Jose Fernandez delivered opening remarks.
The meeting included the following panels on topics of highest priority on the bilateral science and technology agenda: Healthcare, Green Economy, Brazil-U.S. Cooperation Networks, and Aerospace.  

Among other key-note speakers, the event featured Director of the National Science Foundation Office of International Science and Engineering, Kendra Sharp; President of the São Paulo State Research Foundation (FAPESP), Marco Antonio Zago; President of the Aeronautics Institute of Technology (ITA), Anderson Correa; President of the Brazilian Space Agency (AEB), Carlos Moura; President of the University of São Paulo (USP) Carlos Carlotti Jr; and the Vice-Provost for Global Strategies of the Catholic University of America, Duília de Mello.
The meeting's four panels examined subjects of highest priority in the Brazil-U.S. scientific cooperation agenda.
To conclude the meeting, Ambassador Forster hosted a ceremony to decorate Brazilian NASA space scientist Dr. Ramon Perez de Paula with the Order of Rio Branco for his outstanding service to science and the strengthening of Brazil-U.S. scientific cooperation.

Ambassador Forster also awarded the Science and Technology Prize of the Embassy of Brazil to the following six Brazilians scientists and entrepreneurs who help build bridges between Brazil and the United States:
  • Dr. Alessandra Abe Pacini, researcher in Space Physics at the University of Colorado
  • Dr. Andrea Horvath Marques, head of Mental Health Disparities Research Program at the National Institutes of Health
  • Dr. Fabio Ribeiro, R. Norris and Eleanor Shreve Professor of Chemical Engineering at Purdue University
  • Mr. Juliano Seabra, head of the Innovation and Creativity Division at the Inter-American Development Bank
  • Dr. Karin Calvinho, Chief Technology Officer at RenewCO2
  • Dr. Tamy Guimarães, Assistant Professor at Penn State University
Dr. Ramon Perez de Paula was awarded the Order of Rio Branco, and six other prominent members of the diaspora received a Brazilian Embassy prize.

Please share your views about Brazil's Science, Technology, and Innovation capacity here.

Visit investMCTI, a platform to help investors and researchers track promising science and technology projects in Brazil.

Embassy of Brazil in Washington, D.C.
Our mailing address is:

Want to change how you receive these emails?