All the stories and photo's from the 2015 Australian Junior Chess Championship
View this email in your browser

2015 Australian Junior Chess Championship
Canberra, January 17-25

This superbly organised tournament, run by Alana Chibnall and Jenny Mason as chief organisers and their team of  players, parents, sponsors, organisers, arbiters, volunteers and spectators took place in the third week of January. Please find below some of the highlights, adventures and results. 

The tournament was held on the beautiful grounds of the Canberra Grammar School in Red Hill.
With plenty of great trophies up for grabs, it was no wonder competition was fierce.
A fire alarm and full evacuation of the building 15 minutes before the second round on day 5 caused a bit of excitement. It appears to have been a false alarm and everyone was fine.
Congratulations to the 2015 Australian Junior Chess Champion and Australian Junior Blitz Chess Champion Yi Liu from Queensland! And a very notable mention to Pengyu Chen (NSW) and Michael Kethro (ACT)

The Prize winners for the 2015 Australian National Champions: 

1st U18 Open – Yi Liu (QLD)
2nd U19 Open - Pengyu Chen (NSW)
3rd U18 Open - Michael Kethro (ACT)
Performance Prize (Doeberl Cup Book) - Cedric Koh (NSW)
1st U18 Girl – Kristine Quek (NSW) 6.5/8
2nd U18 Girl – Zoe Harrison (VIC) 5.5/8
3rd U18 Girl – Alanna Chew Lee (VIC) 5/8
1st U16 Girl – Denise Lim (VIC) 6/8
2nd U16 Girl – Zhi Lin Guo (VIC) 5.5/8
3rd U16 Girl – Susanne Wells (SA) 4/8
1st U16 Open – Patrick Gong (WA)
2nd U16 Open – Tom Maguire (QLD) 
3rd U16 Open – David Cannon (VIC)
Performance Prize (Doeberl Cup Book) - Oscar Herrmann (SA)
1st U14 Open – Haran Salasan (VIC)
2nd U14 Open – Ray Yang (VIC)
3rd U14 Open – Ethan Lim (VIC)
Performance Prize (Doeberl Cup Book) - David Liu (QLD)
1st U14 Girl – Cassandra Lim (VIC) 8.5/9
2nd U14 Girl – Fiona Shen (NSW) 7/9
3rd U14 Girl – Nina Tchitaev (QLD) 5.5/9
1st U12 Girl – Jody Middleton (VIC)
2nd U12 Girl – Eva Ge (NSW)
=3rd U12 Girl – Saffron Archer (ACT)
                        Katherine Pan (NSW)
1st U12 Open – Jason Wang (QLD)
2nd U12 Open – Matthew Clarke (NSW)
=3rd U12 Open – Brendan Zou (VIC)
                           Michael Ostapenko (QLD) 
                           Michael Jiang (VIC)
Performance Prize (Doeberl Cup Books) - Michael Jiang (VIC) and Henry Menzies (NSW)
1st U10 Open - Christopher Lim (VIC)
2nd U10 Open - Ruicheng Wang (VIC)
3rd U10 Open - Benjamin Hurst (WA)
1st U10 Girl - Jennifer Zhang (NSW)
2nd U10 Girl - Myiesha Maunders (VIC) (Prize money sponsored by Shelley McKenzie)
3rd U10 Girl- Niamh Bridgeman (SA) (on tie-break from Jasmine Lane (NSW) )
1st U8 Girl - Ellie Choemuku-Huang (VIC)
2nd U8 Girl - Abigail Lee (ACT)
3rd U8 Girl - Katherine Pan (NSW)
1st U8 Open - Atlas Ballieu (VIC)
Please find below a snapshot of the Championship. A full list with all results can be found on the Australian Junior Chess Championship website by clicking here--<, while all the photo's from the Championship can be found by clicking here --<

2015 Johns-Putra Australian Junior Elite Training Squad (JETS)

The Australian Junior Chess League is pleased to invite applications from talented Australian juniors (U/18) for the national junior training squad! Find full details on how to qualify and where to register here --< Applications close February 20

2015 International Junior Events

Applications are now open and can be made using the same online application form as above. Information about some of the tournaments is available at  The deadline for applications for the World Schools Individual Championship, the Asian Schools and the ASEAN Age Group events is 28 February. 
If you have any queries about the International Selection process, please feel free to email Tristan Boyd on 

Upcoming Events

Below are the tournaments organised up till June this year. A full list can be found here --<

Australian Junior Tournaments


Junior International Tournaments


Australian Weekenders & Major Tournaments

What is the Aus JCL?

The Australian Junior Chess League (AusJCL) operates under the Australian Chess Federation (ACF), and is responsible for managing the national and international affairs of Australian junior chess. 
The committee for 2015 is as follows:
President: Charles Zworestine
Vice President: Peter Tsai
Treasurer: Tania Simmonds
Secretary: Alana Chibnall
Selections Coordinator: Tristan Boyd
Junior Development Coordinator: vacant
Events Coordinator: vacant
Web Master: Simon Dale
Email Bulletin editor: Sabrina Koetsier
Tasmanian Representative: vacant
South Australian Representative: Alan Goldsmith
Western Australia Representative: Tristan Boyd

You have received this newsletter because you either participated in the 2015 Australian National Championship, or had your address registered with the bulletin. If you wish to ensure you continue to receive these bulletins, please hit the subscribe button below.

Did you enjoy this new format for the newsletter? Or do you prefer the previous layout? Let us know; send us an email ( or tell one of your local AusJCL committee members.

If you have any news, photo's or video's that you believe would make a great contribution to future editions, please do not hesitate to email them to
Update Newsletter Subscription
Copyright © 2015 Chesslife, All rights reserved.

unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences 

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp