Email not displaying correctly? View in a browser | View mobile-friendly

Politics & Prose

Popular Destinations: Children and Teens | Week's Best Deals | Music News

Art All Night graphic

Come see us for Van Ness Main Street's Art All Night, an evening filled with local music, dance, performance, art, and community all along Connecticut Ave this Friday on 9/24! From 5-7pm, bring the kids and join the Children and Teens Department for a drawing demo workshop with John Gallagher, a local comic book artist, from 5-7pm. Signed copies of MEOW MAX Books 1 and 2 will be available for purchase.

CLICK HERE FOR DETAILS



YouTube playlist graphic

Hispanic & Latinx Heritage Month YouTube Playlist

As Hispanic and Latinx Heritage month continues, we wanted to showcase our previous events that highlight Latinx authors. Some faves include Carmen Maria Machado, Julia Alvarez, Patricia Engel, and other big names!

Watch now


An Heiress's Guide to Deception and Desire Cover Image

Signed Pre-Order for Manda Collins

Former lovers become reluctant allies in this delightfully witty historical rom-com from the bestselling author of A Lady's Guide to Mischief and Mayhem—for fans of Evie Dunmore, Enola Holmes, and Netflix's Bridgerton!

Preorder a signed copy today to fall in love with Collins' wickedly smart characters and banter!

Pre-Order Now

Featured Online Classes


class icon

P&P Author Workshop with Robyn Schneider: The Other Merlin

With Robyn Schneider

Mrs Yeats and Mrs Joyce: More Miracle Than Bird by Alice Miller and Nora by Nuala O'Connor are two novels from the points of view of the wives of W. B. Yeats and James Joyce. Georgie Hyde-Lees and Nora Barnacle were two fascinating women in their own right and were essential to the lives and masterpieces of their famous husbands. How much of these novels is factual or fictional? This class will supplement these stories with facts from biographies of Georgie and Nora and relevant quotes from their husbands’ writings. Five Fridays: October 8, 15, 22, 29, and November 5, from 6 to 8 p.m. ET

Register

class icon

Literature of the Caribbean

With Kimberly Clarke

As Fall weather approaches, we will travel throughout the Caribbean islands of Trinidad and Tobago, Antigua, and Barbados. Join us for discussions on three classic novels of the Caribbean’s colonial period. Three Wednesdays: September 29, October 6, 13 from 2 to 4 p.m. ET

Register

class icon

Mrs. Yeats and Mrs. Joyce

With Christopher Griffin

Calling all YA readers and writers: Join bestselling young adult author Robyn Schneider for this virtual writing workshop. One Saturday: September 25 from 2:30 to 3:30 p.m. ET

Register

Nonfiction Hispanic and Latinx Heritage Month Picks

We're continuing with the month by showcasing these moving, Latinx-authored nonfiction titles.
A must-have for any well-read bookshelf!

See all


For Brown Girls with Sharp Edges and Tender Hearts: A Love Letter to Women of Color Cover Image
My Broken Language: A Memoir Cover Image
We Fed an Island: The True Story of Rebuilding Puerto Rico, One Meal at a Time Cover Image
Silver, Sword, and Stone: Three Crucibles in the Latin American Story Cover Image

From the Children and Teens Department


Once Upon a Dragon's Fire Cover Image

New in Hardcover

Beatrice Blue
Once Upon a Dragon’s Fire
(Clarion Books, $17.99)

Dragons at Crumbling Castle: And Other Tales Cover Image

Blast from the Past

Mark Beech
Dragons at Crumbling Castle
(Clarion Books, $8.99)

Burn Cover Image

YA Pick

Patrick Ness
Burn
(Quill Tree Books/HarperCollins, $10.99)

READ THE FULL REVIEWS HERE

CLICK HERE FOR THE CALENDAR

See Bestsellers »


See Book Groups »


Music News



Music covers

READ THE FULL REVIEWS HERE

P&P Customers Are Also Invited To...


I Want You to Know We're Still Here: A Post-Holocaust Memoir Cover Image

Esther Safran Foer Book Signing Event in Person and Live Stream

at NINA MCLEMORE, 5310B Western Ave NW, Chevy Chase, MD and YouTube

September 25, 2021 at 11:00 am ET
I Want You to Know We're Still Here

RSVP: dc@ninamclemore.com

Kate Bowler book cover

Kate Bowler In Conversation with David Brooks

at Sixth and I

Sep 29, 2021 • 7:00 pm ET

In No Cure for Being Human: (And Other Truths I Need to Hear), Bowler grapples with her cancer diagnosis, her ambition, and her faith and searches for some semblance of peace with her limitations in a culture that says that anything is possible.

CLICK HERE FOR DETAILS

Politics and Prose Bookstore
and Coffeehouse
5015 Connecticut Ave. NW

Politics and Prose at The Wharf
70 District Square SW

Politics and Prose at Union Market
1270 5th Street NE

www.politics-prose.com

(202) 364-1919
books@politics-prose.com

social  social social social

The Den

The Den 
(202) 362-2408

www.politics-prose.com/the-den

 







This email was sent to <<E-mail Address>>
why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences
Politics and Prose Bookstore · 5015 Connecticut Ave NW · Washington, DC 20008 · USA